Ghana at a Glance

Pre Colonial Ghana

The Republic of Ghana is named after the medieval West African Ghana Empire. The Empire became known in Europe and Arabia as the Ghana Empire by the title of its emperor, the Ghana. The Empire appears to have broken up following the 1076 conquest by the Almoravid General Abu-Bakr Ibn-Umar.

A reduced kingdom continued to exist after Almoravid rule ended, and the Kingdom was later incorporated into subsequent Sahelian empires, such as the Mali Empire several centuries later. Geographically, the ancient Ghana Empire was approximately 500 miles (800 km) north and west of the modern state of Ghana, and controlled territories in the area of the Sénégal River and east towards the Niger rivers, in modern Senegal, Mauritania and Mali.

Ghana Revolution And Political History

Political highlights

1957 - independence, Nkrumah of CPP is PM
1960 - declared republic, one party system, presidential system
1966 - military overthrow of 1st republic
1969 - 2nd republic, Busia of PP is PM
1972 - military overthrow of 2nd republic
1978 - palace coup to restructure military government
1979 - junior officer uprising and military housecleaning
1979 - ushered third republic, Limann of PNP is President
1981 - overthrow of the constitutional PNP gov't by the PNDC military junta
1983 - Attempted overthrow of the PNDC junta by other junior army men
1992 - Rawlings of NDC is Dem elected as President
1996 - Rawlings of NDC is re-elected
2001 - Kuffour (NPP) is President
2005 - Kufuor begins second-term in office
2009 - John Evans Atta Mills (NDC) is President
2012 - John Dramani Mahama (NDC) is sworn in as President following death of President Mills
2013-John Dramani Mahama (NDC) is sworn as President after winning the 2012 general elections