President not in Breach of Constitution- Speaker

Speaker of Parliament, Edward Doe Adjaho, has refuted reports that President John Mahama has breached Article 72 of the Constitution which spells out the number of ministers that should be appointed to form a cabinet.


The article stipulates that Cabinet Ministers must not be less than 10 and not more than 19 people.

According to him, a communication from the office of the President, named 18 cabinet ministers, adding that the President was yet to appoint either the Minister of Petroleum or the Minister of Power to bring the number to 19.

Member of Parliament for Effutu, Alexander Kwamena Markins, who raised the issue of constitutional breach on the floor of Parliament last week demanded clarification.

He quoted   an official report of Parliament indicating that there are currently 20 Cabinet Ministers in government, which he said was a breach of the constitutional provision.

But the Speaker in a clarification said the 20 cabinet ministers reported by the Parliamentary Debates was an error by the Editor of Debates in the House because the current list of ministers did not include the ministers of Power and Petroleum.

He disclosed   that the President would, by the close of this week, appoint either Dr. Kwabena Donkor or Kofi-Armah Buah to be part of cabinet.

In another development, the House passed the Youth Employment Agency Bill, 2014 which seeks to change the name of the Ghana Youth Employment and Entrepreneurial Development Agency (GYEEDA) into Youth Employment Agency.

The Youth Employment Agency (YEA) has an employment capacity of between 45,000 to 100,000 jobs.

Source: ISD (Gilbert Ankrah)