President Akufo-Addo dismisses 3 High Court Judges

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has dismissed 3 High Court Judges on grounds of bribery and corruption.


The judges, Mr Justice Ayisi Addo, Mr Justice Uuter Paul Dery and Mr Justice Mustapha Habib Logoh, were removed after the Committee established by the Chief Justice, Justice Sophia Akuffo, pursuant to Article 146(4) of the Constitution, to investigate a complaint made against the 3 Judges by Mr Anas Aremeyaw Anas, recommended their removal from office.


A statement issued on Sunday, 16th December, 2018, and signed by the Director of Communications at the Presidency, Mr Eugene Arhin, said President Akufo-Addo, “in accordance with the provisions of Article 146(9) of the Constitution, has acted on the recommendation of the Committee, as the Constitution enjoins him to do, and has, accordingly, removed the three Justices of the High Court from office on grounds of bribery and corruption.”


“The Committee concluded that the conduct of the Justices amounted to a criminal offence under the Criminal Offences Act, 1950, (Act 29) (as amended).”


According to the statement, President Akufo-Addo subsequently directed that a copy of the Committee's report be submitted to the Criminal Investigations Department (CID) of the Ghana Police Service for the necessary action to be taken.


More than 100 members of staff of the Judicial Service were implicated in the judicial corruption scandal that rocked the country in 2015 as a result of the Ana's exposé.


Seven High Court judges were suspended and subsequently five of them —   Justice John Ajet-Nasam, Justice Francis K. Opoku, Justice Ivy Heward Mills, Justice Ernest Obimpeh and Justice Kofi Essel Mensah — were sacked in June 2016 based on the advice of the Judicial Council.


However Four High Court Justices —Justice Uuter Paul Dery, Mustapha Logoh, Charles Quist and Gilbert Ayisi Addo — were put on administrative leave as part of the investigations. They were also put on a half salary, denied their allowances and barred from sitting on the bench.


Some of these judges including Gilbert Ayisi Addo had challenged their suspension in court but the court has since thrown out the cases.


The then Vice-President Amissah-Arthur, suspended Gilbert Ayisi Addo in October 2015 based on the advice of the Judicial Council.


Source: ISD




Created: 17 December 2018
Hits: 1533