7 more communities to benefit from LEAP in the Central Region

The Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection, Nana Oye Lithur, has on Wednesday toured seven communities in the Central Region earmarked to be rolled on to the Livelihood Empowerment Against Poverty (LEAP) cash transfer programme.

The seven communities identified as poorest communities in Agona East and Assin North Districts include, Mother Cares Orphanage and Welfare Home, Nyamedam, Kotokori Zongo, Nyamebekyere, Otabil Nkwanta and Assin Dompem. In all a total of 110 househoulds are expected to benefit from the cash transfer programme.


At all seven communities, the sector Minister, Nana Oye Lithur and her entourage took turns to educate the community on the essence of LEAP and how it seeks to help them vacate the poverty brackets they find themselves in. A five member committee was formed at each of the seven communities and inaugurated as Community LEAP Implementation Committee to assist in the identification of poorest and vulnerable people in the community.


Identified persons will then be registered and will benefit from the payments in the next two months. The inclusion of the seven communities is all part of plans to increase the current benefiting households form 90,785 to 150,000 across the country.


Source: ISD (Karimatu Anas)

Hits: 3140