A group of chiefs calling themselves ‘Coalition of chiefs for Bono East Region’ in the Brong Ahafo Region has petitioned President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo for the partitioning of and creating three (3) new Regions in the Brong Ahafo Region.


The Petition was contained in a letter signed by five (5) paramount chiefs who cited the long distance between District Capitals in the Eastern corridor of the Region and the present capital, Sunyani.


The signatories to the petition included Nana Pimanpim Yaw Kagbrese V, President of the B/A Regional House of chiefs and Omanhene of Yeji Traditional Area; Oseadeeyo Akumfi Ameyaw IV, Omanhene of Techiman Traditional Area and Nana Owusu Akyeaw Brempong II, Omanhene of Atebubu Traditional Area.


The others are Nana Owusu Sakyi II, Omanhene of Bassa Traditional Area and Nana Obrempong Kru Takyi II, Omanhene of Abease Traditional Area.


The chiefs, who made this known at the inaugural ceremony of a Co-ordinating Committee of the Coalition for Bono East Region, to kick-start organization and mobilization of resources to educate the citizens to support them in their quest to create ‘Bono East Region’, indicated that the creation of new regions would bring governance closer to the people, considering the total geographical land area of the Region.


The Co-ordinating Committee was represented by two (2) members each from nine (9) Traditional Areas.


The President of the B/A Regional House of Chiefs, Nana Pimampim Yaw Kagbrese V, advised the committee members to deliver on their mandate and urged them to educate the citizens on the need to support them in their quest to secede from the second largest region in the country.


Mr Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah,  Deputy Minister of Regional Reorganization, who was at the inaugural ceremony of the Co-ordinating Committee, said the President had received six (6) petitions and directed them to the Council of State for advice.


He said a Commission of Enquiry would be set by the President to investigate the petitions and recommend to the President for the necessary processes and actions.



Source: ISD ( Imoro T. Ayibani)