Local governance and participatory democracy have been given a major boost in the Tain District of the Brong Ahafo Region, with inauguration of Town and Area Councils in the District—Menji Area Council being the latest to be inaugurated.


The 20-member Council is made up of elected Assembly members, Unit Committee members and Chiefs or their representatives within the jurisdiction of the Council.


Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Nicholas Kumi Acheaw, District Co-ordinating Director (DCD), noted that the inauguration and operationalization of the Town and Area Councils formed a critical part of the country’s governance structure as they brought democracy to the doorsteps of local communities and, more importantly, as the Assembly could not function effectively without effective, functional and reliable sub-structures.


Mr Acheaw, who swore into office members of the Area Council, stated that local governance sub-structures went a long way to enhance the work of the various Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) in the areas of revenue mobilization, project planning and monitoring as well as ensuring the development of the area.


He admitted that the District, Town and Area Councils had been dysfunctional for some time now and pledged the commitment of the management of the Assembly to ensuring that sub-structures were in operation with the needed logistical support.


Mr Acheaw urged the members to refrain from partisan politics and collaborate with Nananom and meet regularly to discuss issues of concern to ensure the development of the area.


In his remarks, Mr Baba Karim, District Finance Officer (DFO), said the Assembly had undertaken to cede some of its revenue collection responsibilities to the Council so that after collection, they would retain a percentage of the revenue for the running of their office and for other mandatory activities, while rendering accounts to the Assembly.


Mr Amoako Anthony Kwame, Council Chairman, pledged on behalf of his fellow Councillors to operate in line with the Standing Orders of the Urban, Zonal, Town and Area Councils, as provided for by the Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development.


Source: ISD (Isaac Yeboah)

Hits: 1743