President's Activities In Photos

Jan 2014

The Editor of Debate in Charge of the Hansard Department in Ghana’s Parliament, Alhaji Abu Dahamani Issaka, has disclosed that Ghana will host the Sixth Bilateral Commonwealth Hansard Editors Association Conference in Accra.


According to him, the conference  which will be held on the theme, “e-Voting in Parliaments: Hansard-Meeting the Challenges” will begin from Monday, January 13th to Friday, January 18th and "will focus on methods used by Hansard Departments in Africa in the light of evolution of governance systems and the ever changing technology."

Briefing the media yesterday in Accra, Alhaji Abu Dahamani Issaka, said delegates and observers from the parliament of South Africa, Uganda, Sierra Leone, Zanzibar, Swaziland, Namibia, Tanzania, Kenya, Malawi, Lesotho and Ghana are expected to attend the conference.

He said the conference would afford participants the opportunity to share their experiences and learn best practices as well as review Hansard reporting and editing techniques.

Participants at the conference, he noted, would also discuss the need to establish a proposed Commonwealth Institute of Parliamentary Studies and Professional Development in Ghana.

He added that, the association had realised the need for special training and professional development, particularly, of Hansard staff, and generally of all parliamentary staff to enhance their service delivery capacity to the Parliaments of the Commonwealth.

Some of the topics to be discussed at conference according to Alhaji Issaka include; the application of modern technology to Hansard production, role of information, effective Parliamentary oversight, as well as how the Hansard could enhance the democratisation process of Africa.

Commonwealth Hansard Editors Associations is a professional body for editors of parliamentary debates in Commonwealth countries.  It is headquartered at the House of Commons, in London, United Kingdom.

The Association also has its regional associations in Africa, Austro-Asian Pacific, Canada, the Caribbean and the United Kingdom.

Source: ISD (Gilbert Ankrah)