Mr. Chairman, Hon Deputy Ministers
Members of the Ministerial Advisory Board
Chief Directors
Directors and Staff of MOWAC
Development Partners
CSOs and NGOs
Friends of the Media

Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen

The Ministry of Women and Children’s Affairs (MOWAC) is the statutory national machinery responsible for the promotion of gender equality, equity, women’s empowerment as well as ensuring the survival, protection, development and participation of children in Ghana.
The Ghana Shared Growth and development Agenda makes provisions for the need to strengthen the position of women and children so as to facilitate their contribution to national development. The programmes and activities of the Ministry for the reviewing year, were therefore aimed at achieving the Government’s Development policy objectives as clearly outlined in the Ghana’s Shared Growth and Development Agenda (GSGDA), 2010-2013.
In addition to embarking on programmes under the key thematic areas in the GSGDA, our Ministry followed through the activities outlined under the various international obligations relevant to the mandate of MOWAC, that Ghana is a party to.
INTRODUCTION
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen; I would like to mention in brief, the key international obligations that fall within the mandate of MOWAC as follows:
The UN Millennium Development Goals (MDGs;)
The Convention on the Elimination of All forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW)
The UN Commission on the Status of Women
International Women’s Day Celebration
African Women’s Decade (AWD)
Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action (BPfA)
African Union Day of the Child.
Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC)
STRUCTURE OF MOWAC
Mr. Chairman:
• MOWAC has two (2) implementing Departments; Department of Women and Department of Children with representation in all the ten regions.
• In addition, MOWAC runs the Human Trafficking (HT), Domestic Violence (DV) and the Early Childhood Care and Development (ECCD) Secretariats, and the Gender Responsive Skills and Community Development Project (GRSCDP).
Key Gender Issues
Mr. Chairman, Ladies and Gentlemen:
Before I proceed with the interventions that were earmarked for the reviewing year, permit me to update my distinguished audience on the key gender issues that impact on the country’s sustainable socio-economic development agenda.
Notable among them are :
? Gender discrimination in access to and control over productive resources, and social services that exacerbate women’s vulnerability to poverty.
? Maternal Health Issues. According to the UNICEF annual report (published in October 2011), the new estimates for 2009 on Ghana’s maternal mortality rate is at 350 deaths per 100,000 live births in comparison to the MDG target of 185 deaths per 100, 000 live births. There is still a long way to achieving the MDG target.
? Relatively high incidence of breast and cervical cancer.
? Child protection issues (ie. Child labour, Streetism, adoption, etc.)
? Low representation of women in the legislature and at the District level governance. In the 2008 general elections, 8.3% (19 seats) of the 230 parliamentary seats went to women as compared to 91.7% (211 seats) for their male counterpart.
? Exposure of women and children to harmful socio-cultural and antiquated traditional practices such as ritual servitude ( i.e. Gambaga witches Camp, FGM, Trokosi)
? Human trafficking.
? Domestic Violence
? Gender stereotyping
? Climate change and its effect on the livelihoods of rural women, and food security.
? On the educational front, there are inequalities in the access of women to education, although Ghana is close to reaching gender parity in primary education through reforms and various support programmes. Nonetheless, the gender gap in post-primary education level remains a challenge and the percentage of girls is even lower in technical and vocational training. According to the GLSS 2005 report, girls account for 15% of the total enrolment in Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET)
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Audience:
The gender issues raised should not be viewed as synonymous to women and children; rather, they are development challenges and also a human right concern that should require the concerted effort by all players in the various sectors of the economy.
KEY INTERVENTIONS
The Ministry, in its Sector Medium Term Development Plan (2010-2013) has outlined the following key interventions to address the respective gender issues earlier mentioned:
? Enhancing the human resource capacity of MOWAC to carry out its mandate;
? Enhancing the economic empowerment of women;
? Coordinating gender sensitivity in sector policies, plans, budgeting, resource allocation, business promotion, programmes and projects.
? Formulating policy, coordinating, executing and monitoring of programmes and activities relating to the welfare of women and children.
? Embarking on outreach and sensitization programmes to ensure that gender equity and equality is mainstreamed in all sectors of the economy.
? Providing the requisite platform and mechanism to implement government’s commitments expressed at international fora towards improving the status of women and children
? Collaborating with Development Partners (DPs), Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and other relevant organizations / stakeholders to facilitate the integration of women and children issues into national development.
? Ensuring compliance with Ghana’s International Obligations that relate to women and children.
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen;
On the 17th day of November 2011, I stood before this same august body to give an account of my Ministry’s stewardship for the year. All too soon the year 2012 is here with us and we are almost seven months into the year.
The year 2012 is quite an eventful one and also challenging for both our Ministry and the good people of Ghana. For us, it is eventful because it marks the end of the Phase I of the Better Ghana Agenda, while preparations are underway to usher in the Phase II of the Better Ghana Agenda under H.E Prof John Evans Atta Mills. Furthermore, 2012 is an election year; a time for sober reflection as a people of one nation with a common destiny and purpose.
KEY ACHIEVEMENTS
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen;
Our Ministry like all other MDAs was confronted with a number of challenges especially in the financial sector. Nonetheless, we made modest but significant gains in the implementation of the programmes and activities, that were earmarked for the period.
As we cruise through the second half of the year, this is the time for contemplation. The occasion provides a unique opportunity for both my Ministry and our loyal constituents gathered here this morning to reflect on our personal and communal achievements since our last interaction in this same Auditorium. We therefore, wish to remind ourselves briefly on how we have progressed thus far as a Ministry. We note with joy that several items on our checklist for 2012, which we communicated to you in our last meeting in November 2011, as the “way forward “ have already been implemented and completed, with a couple of them in progress, and also a few left to be done.
• KEY ACHIEVEMENTS: STATUS OF IMPLEMENTATION OF THE WAY FORWARD
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Ladies and Gentlemen;
Generally, progress has been made on many fronts but I would like to quickly furnish our loyal constituents and partners, the status of implementation of our checklist of the way forward (planned Action) for 2012 as was mentioned in our last presentation when we appeared before you on the 17th day of November 2011.
Way forward for 2012
Status of Implementation
Remarks
We planned to train Gender Officers and Planning Officers of 59 MMDAs in the use of gender planning template for planning at the various MMDAs.
We have duly completed the training for all target group of the 59 MMDAs
Last year we set ourselves a target to provide scholarships for 300 girls from poor households to pursue Technical and Vocational Education Training (TVET) by December 2012. This is in addition to the 200 girls who benefited last year.
We commenced the selection process in June 2012 and we hope to complete in August 2013
Our African Development Bank partners in March this year has approved extra resources for the scholarship budget to enable the Ministry to take on board an additional 166 girls bringing the number to 466 instead of 300.
Commencement of the MOWAC Office Accommodation Project.
On the 11th day of April 2012, an official sod-cutting ceremony was performed to commence construction.
The work is progressing steadily. 20% of work has been completed as at June, 2012. Work is expected to be completed within 18-months
We set a target to complete the rehabilitation works of the 25 Community Development Vocational and Technical Institutes with the aim to increase enrolment.
The activity is underway. The African Development Bank is yet to issue a “no objection” for selection of the civil works contractors to commence work.
Work is expected to commence by September 2012
The Ministry will liaise with the Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning (MoFEP) to follow-up on AfDB to facilitate the outstanding procurement process.
Undertake comprehensive national research on HT, DV, gender and child related issues
Research on internal and cross-boarder trafficking has just commenced .
In addition, we have rolled-out research on the incidence and extent of Domestic Violence
MOWAC is collaborating with IOM , DFID, EKN, UNICEF and other partners to undertake comprehensive national research on HT, DV, gender and child related issues
Operationalize DV Fund
DV Fund launched with seed money of GH¢ 20,000.00 from GoG and the fund has grown to GH¢ 35,889.60 . The account number is 0134404636306 at ECOBANK
The Ministry will intensify advocacy and awareness creation to enhance donations to the Fund.
Operationalize HT Fund
Proposals have been developed to solicit funds into the HT Fund
Account No: 018631605017
Bank: Bank of Ghana
The Ministry will intensify advocacy and awareness creation to enhance donations to the Fund
Enactment of the DV Legislative Instrument
Instructions on DV LI prepared and submitted to the AG’s Department.
We are aggressively pursuing follow-up at the AG’s Department for its response.
Enactment of the HT Legislative Instrument
Draft HT LI prepared and submitted to the AG’s Department.
We are aggressively pursuing follow-up at the AG’s Department for its response
Prepare and submit the consolidated 3rd, 4th and 5th report on the implementation of the CRC to the UN Committee on the Rights of the Child.
Report duly submitted
Finalize and submit the 6th and 7th CEDAW combined Report
Report duly submitted
Participate in the 56th CSW
56th CSW duly participated
Ghana carried out a side-event .
 
KEY ACHIEVEMENTS
Mr. Chairman,
It is my singular honour therefore to report to our distinguished audience, the Ministry’s accomplishments in details as follows:
1. GENDER RELATED INTERVENTIONS:
1.1 Women in Decision-making and Governance
• In our bid to push forward for women’s inclusion in the decision making and governance structures both at the local and national levels, MOWAC has put in place an Affirmative Action Committee to coordinate the drafting of the Affirmative Action Bill. The Committee has organized ten (10) regional consultative fora involving a broad spectrum of stakeholders including traditional authorities to solicit views for the drafting of the AA Bill.
• Consultations have been held with the leadership of political parties and Members of Parliament to discuss strategies to facilitate the enactment of an Affirmative Action Act.
• A core team of experts has also been put together to draft proposal for to facilitate the drafting of an Affirmative Action Bill (AAB).
1.2 Gender Responsive Budgeting (GRB) Orientation for Parliamentary Select Committees
• In a joint collaboration with the Parliament of Ghana and the United Nations Women (UN-Women), a GRB training workshop was organised for Members of Parliament in Ghana. The workshop was intended to orient and equip selected Members of Parliament of the Finance, Budget, Public Accounts and Women and Children Select Committees and Clerks, with Gender Responsive Budgeting knowledge, skills and competences to analyse and track gender responsive policies and budgeting in our national budgets.
1.3 Formulation of a National Gender Policy
The Ministry during the reporting period embarked on nation-wide consultations to collate views for the drafting of a National Gender Policy.
• The draft policy is formulated on selected sector strategies, enhanced by gender based analysis, extensive consultation and the establishment of gender equality goals. Mr. Chairman, the sectoral objectives and interventions outlined are both achievable in the short to medium term.
• The National Gender Policy is expected to provide a timely and comprehensive framework to include gender awareness approaches in development, thereby enhancing the possibility of successful, effective and sustainable outcomes in addressing the gender issues earlier enumerated.
• It is our expectation therefore, that the National Gender Policy when completed, will also serve as a guide for the various stakeholders operating in the country to design gender sensitive programmes to enhance equitable socio-economic development that will benefit both men and women, the vulnerable and the excluded .
1.4 Economic Empowerment of Women
Micro-Finance Support to Rural Women
MOWAC in collaboration with ECOWAS Gender Development Center (EGDC) is providing micro-finance assistance to three (3) rural agro-based women’s group located in Upper West, Eastern and Volta Regions of Ghana to the tune of US$ 30,000.00
Mr. Chairman, the financial assistance to the groups was in response to the theme of the 56th Session of the CSW “The Empowerment of Rural women and their Role in Poverty and Hunger Eradication, Development and Current Challenges”.
Anglophone Training in Food Processing and Handicraft Production
The Ministry in collaboration with the ECOWAS Gender Development Centre (EGDC) from December 2011 to May 2012 organized a training programme for Anglophone women (Nigeria and Ghana) engaged in food processing and handicraft production, as well as 20 women food processors in cassava and palm-nut processing in Kyekyewere in the Central Region.
1.5 Women’s Empowerment through information sharing
Mr. Chairman, distinguished ladies and gentlemen;
Access to information is strategic for women’s empowerment and the promotion of gender equality. There is irrefutable evidence, which substantiates the fact that those societies that discriminate by gender in access to information have to pay a very high price in terms of their ability to develop and to reduce poverty.
It is in response to this critical need of women’s access to information that the Department of Women has instituted the Women’s Monthly Meetings as a platform for women’s groups at the national level . These monthly meetings are replicated at the regional level as quarterly meetings and termed Women’s Network Meetings for sharing ideas on various issues of concern to women and also issues of national development priorities. It also provides opportunity for collating inputs for policy formulation.
Resource persons are selected from collaborating organizations such as the Ghana Health Service, the National Commission for Civic Education (NCCE), and the Electoral Commission among others.
Five (5) meetings were held during the reporting period. The topics treated include the following: Cancers; the Role of Women in Ensuring Peaceful Elections; Candidiasis; the Biometric Voter Register; Sickle Cell Anemia; Intestate Succession Law; Radiation and its Effects .
1.6 Institutionalization of Gender Mainstreaming in MDAs and MMDAs Plans and Programmes
The Ministry held a 2nd High Level Meeting on the Institutionalization of Gender Mainstreaming in the Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAS) and Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies (MMDAs) with its stakeholders. The objective of the meeting was to discuss and finalize the draft Job Descriptions for both the MDAs’ and MMDAs’ Gender Officers (GOs), Accountability Framework , and Memorandum of Understanding for key stakeholders.
• The Ministry in collaboration with CIDA, the Institute of Local Government Studies (ILGS), GIMPA, Civil Service Training Center (CSTC), NORST Project and the Management Development and Productivity Institute (MDPI) is embarking on a capacity development programme for Gender Officers through the harmonization of all capacity building initiatives on gender mainstreaming.
• Furthermore the Ministry through the Gender Responsive Skills and Community Development Project has developed curriculum for professional skills in Gender Mainstreaming for the PPME staff of MDAs and District Planning Coordinating Units (DPCU) of MMDAs.
1.7 Adherence to Some Specific Statutory and Routine National
Duties
Mr. Chairman, our mandate is cross-cutting in nature and therefore we are seen to be “Jack of all trades” wherever women and children’s issues are concerned in the various sectors of our economy. Consequently, we have generally collaborated with the various MDAs in achieving government’s targets set in the Ghana Shared Growth and Development Agenda Specifically, we accomplished the following:
• Prepared and submitted to the National Development Planning Commission the Ministry’s Annual Progress Report for 2011 to be incorporated in the National Annual Progress report.
• Participated in the National HIV/AIDS Fair as part of the activities to commemorate the 10th Anniversary of the establishment of the Ghana AIDS Commission. The Ministry also used the opportunity to sensitize participants at the Fair on issues on HIV/AIDS, particularly the need for voluntary testing and dealing with stigmatization.
• Participated in the 3rd Ghana Policy Fair and Regional Policy Fairs in Brong Ahafo and Western Regions.
2.0 GENDER RESPONSIVE SKILLS AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT PROJECT
In 2012, the Ministry through the Gender Responsive Skills and Community Development Project sponsored the second cohort of four (4) professional staff drawn from MOWAC and NDPC to benefit from a long term gender training abroad.
KEY ACHIEVEMENTS
Three (3) staff were sent to the University of Cape Town in South Africa for postgraduate studies in Gender and Transformation, while the other one (1) , a staff of the Department of Women is pursuing a Masters Degree in Gender and Conflict Management at the Kofi Annan Peace Keeping and Training Centre in Accra.
? The first cohort of three (3) MOWAC staff that benefited from the scholarship programme to the University of Cape Town, South Africa in 2011 have successfully completed the programme and they have returned to Ghana with the requisite skills in gender analysis and research.
? The Ministry in March this year, received the African Development Bank’s approval for additional budget to increase the number of beneficiaries for the local scholarship for girls from 500 to 666; representing an increase of 33%.
• A total of 19 staff of MOWAC were sponsored to pursue a two-week professional training in gender and development at the Management and Development Productivity International (MDPI) in Swaziland. The training forms part of the implementation of the recommendations of MOWAC’s re-engineering process to develop a cadre of skilled human resource and highly motivated staff.
• From February 2012 to date, 243 staff of MMDAs’ Planning Coordinating Units have received training in gender mainstreaming at the Institute of Local Government Studies (ILGS) , while 89 key staff of PPME, and Chief Directors of selected MDAs were trained at GIMPA.
• A total of 77 instructors of Technical and Vocational Education Training (TVET) in the various 25 Community Development Vocational and Technical Institutes have since May 2012 received Competence Based Training (CBT) at Bunso in the Eastern Region. Training is on-going for additional 360 instructors and it is expected to be completed by August 2012.
3.0 Human Trafficking (HT)
Mr. Chairman,
Ghana has maintained its tier 2 rating status according to the 2011 USA Trafficking in Person’s Report
In addition to maintaining our rating we have made some remarkable accomplishments that are worth reporting as follows:
• A total of 110 cases were reported country wide on HT, with 85 of the cases under investigation.
• Three (3) persons were prosecuted and also three (3) convictions have been obtained.
• The National Plan of Action on Human Trafficking is under review.
4.0 Domestic Violence (DV)
Mr. Chairman,
• As part of MOWAC’s initiatives to improve outreach and sensitization on domestic violence issues, a documentary has been developed to address acts of domestic violence and translated into Ga, Twi, Dagbani, Ewe, Huasa and Nzema. The documentary will be launched soon.
• The DV Secretariat embarked on visits to the Gender Based Violence (GBV) court in Accra to observe and monitor proceedings in domestic violence cases.
• Established rural response coordinating systems at the regions.
• Developed IEC Materials to facilitate sensitization on DV issues
• We collaborated with CSOs such as WilDAF-Ghana, Ark Foundation, WISE and EPAWA to commemorate International Day to End Gender-Based Violence. The theme for the celebration was “Peace in the World begins from the Home. Let us End Gender-Based Violence Now”. The purpose of the celebration was to raise awareness about Gender-Based Violence and Human Rights.
• A facility has been rehabilitated as shelter for survivors of domestic violence and victims of human trafficking in Greater Accra. The facility was donated by the Christian Council of Ghana and rehabilitated with financial support from the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Two (2) others in the Upper West and Volta Regions are yet to be completed.
• A two-day Partners forum was organized for stakeholders in the Domestic Violence Act, 2007 (Act 732) implementation with the aim to providing a platform to review the activities carried out by stakeholders, assess the process of implementation of interventions, and to re-strategize for improved results regarding implementation of the National Policy and Plan of Action (NPPA)
5.0 Children Related Issues
Mr. Chairman,
• Like the National Gender Policy, the Ministry deemed it appropriate and timely to develop a National Child Protection Policy (NCPP) to provide an integrated approach in the delivery of child related services and outline comprehensive interventions and standard operating procedures for child care professionals. Consultative meetings were held with stakeholders to solicit inputs for the drafting of the Policy.
• Quarterly Child Protection Committee meetings were held at the national and regional levels to discuss strategies to promote and protect the rights of children.
• Capacities of all the Social Services Sub-Committees of the MMDAs were built on child related legislation
• Published and disseminated research on the “Voices of Children”
6.0 International Obligations
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Audience,
On our international commitments to gender equity, equality, women’s empowerment and child rights and protection issues, we performed creditably as follows:
6.1 UN Commission on the Status of Women (CSW):
• The Hon Minister led a delegation to participate in the 56th Session of the CSW Conference held in New York from 27th February to 9th March, 2012 on the theme “The Empowerment of Rural Women and their Role in Poverty and Hunger Eradication, Development and Current Challenges”.
• Ghana organized a Side Event at the CSW meeting on the 29th February 2012 with the theme “Rural Women and MDGs 1 and 3: Ghana’s Success and Challenges”. The presentation made at the Side Event showcased Ghana’s effort at the economic empowerment of rural women with regard to modernization of the “Chorkor “ Fish Smoker, the challenges encountered and the need for support for rural women in this direction.
6.2 International Women’s Day (IWD):
On the 8th day of March 2012, MOWAC in collaboration with its Development Partners (DPs), MDAs, Civil Society Organizations (CSOs), school children and rural womenfolk observed the celebration of International Women’s Day. The Day was marked with durbars in all the ten regions under the theme “Connecting Girls, Inspiring Futures; Preventing Rural Poverty” .The day has been set aside by the United Nations as a day to celebrate worldwide the achievements of women and also deliberate on the challenges and how to circumvent these challenges such that women will be able to take their rightful places in our societies.
6.3 Commonwealth Africa Regional Colloquium:
MOWAC in collaboration with the Commonwealth Secretariat organized a Commonwealth Africa Regional Colloquium which was supported by the Office of the Vice-President of the Republic of Ghana under the theme “Women Leaders as Agents of Change”. The Rationale for the Regional Colloquium was to discuss and develop the way forward with regard to the significant under-representation of women in decision making positions in the Commonwealth. The percentage of women in such positions revealed that Member States were yet to attain the target of 30 percent representation of women endorsed by the Beijing Platform for Action, 1995 and other International Instruments.
6.4 The African Union Day of the Child:
• The day was duly observed under the theme “The Rights of Children with Disabilities: The Duty to Protect, Respect, Promote and Fulfill”
• The 2012 celebration sought to create awareness on disability issues and measures to prevent and protect children with disability.
• As part of activities to celebrate this year’s anniversary, a Fun-fair and Children Interaction Forum were held at the Dzorwulu Special School for about 700 children with or without disabilities.
6.5 CEDAW and Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action (BPfA):
The Ministry on behalf of Government of Ghana submitted its 6th and 7th combined reports on CEDAW to the CEDAW Committee.
• Let me at this point on behalf of the Ministry congratulate Ms. Hillary Gbedemah, the Rector of the Law Institute of Ghana, on her election to the United Nations (UN) Committee on Elimination of all forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW).
The election of Ms. Gbedemah, a Lawyer and a Gender Consultant and Ghana’s Representative on UN CEDAW for the period 2013 to 2017 followed a highly competitive election by the 187 member states of the UN at the UN Headquarters in New York, U.S.A.
Elected member states have the responsibility of steering affairs of the Committee for four years beginning in January, 2013 including monitoring the implementation of measures outlined by member states in eliminating discrimination against women.
The election of Ms. Hillary Gbedemah is no doubt an acknowledgement and recognition of Ghana’s contribution to ensuring gender equality and the empowerment of women.
KEY ACHIEVEMENTS
7.0 GoG/CIDA Support for Capacity Development Mechanism Initiative
Mr. Chairman, distinguished ladies and gentlemen;
• The selection of our Ministry to benefit from the GoG/CIDA support for institutional capacity building is the highlight of our achievements for the period under review.
• The CDM secretariat invited a number of MDAs to submit proposals for a CIDA support of 300,000 Canadian Dollars earmarked for Institutional Capacity Development. Mr. Chairman, not only did our Ministry get selected among five MDAs, our proposal was adjudged the best with a technical score of 90.6%. The funds will be allocated to build the institutional capacity of MOWAC
• Part of the funds will be allocated to strengthen the Research Information and Statistics Management (RISM) Directorate of the Ministry as well as the Regional Directorates of the Department of Women and the Department of Children.
• CHALLENGES
Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Audience, Ladies and Gentlemen; Our remarkable achievements for the reviewing year did not come without challenges. Our Ministry is therefore confronted with the following challenges:
Inadequate office space for the Ministry.
Limited staff with the requisite qualifications in gender and child related issues
Inadequate budgetary allocation and untimely release of programme budget for 2012.
Low level of awareness of gender issues in the country.
Inadequate gender data for policy formulation.
WAY FORWARD
Mr. Chairman,
Looking into the future, our Ministry would like to make the following projections:
? Continue the construction of the MOWAC Office complex.
? Intensify advocacy, sensitization and awareness creation campaigns on gender, children, DV and HT issues.
? Expand capacity building interventions of stakeholders on gender, children, DV, HT and ECCD related issues.
? Continue to work on the development of Inter and Intra Agency Protocol on DV.
? Continue collaboration with Ghana Statistical Services and partners on gender, children, HT and DV related data.
? Launch Web portal of women achievers.
? MOWAC will continue to liaise with the A-G Department for the drafting of the DV and HT LIs.
? Strengthen inter-agency collaboration.
? Revamp the child helpline and streamline its operations.
? Continuous collaboration with stakeholders to sensitize and create awareness against harmful socio-cultural practices.
? Scale up the GRB implementation process.
? Roll-out the implementation of the activities earmarked under the CIDA/GOG Funded Capacity Development Mechanism Initiative for which MOWAC is among the MDAs that were selected to benefit from a grant of 300,000 Canadian Dollars each.
? Commence the rehabilitation works of the 25 Community Development Vocational and Technical Institutes with the aim to increase enrolment.
? Complete the training of 437 teachers in Competence Based Training (CBT) to enhance pedagogy in Technical and Vocational Education Training (TVET) at the 25 Community Development Training Institutes.
? Enhance access of women entrepreneurs to Micro-finance and Business Advisory Services with the target to reach out to 4 million women by 2014.
? Develop Resource Mobilization Strategic Plan and roll-out implementation to strengthen MOWAC’s programme resource base. This is intended to be achieved with support under the CDM initiative.
? Develop and establish Gender Management Information System (GMIS) for policy formulation and train the relevant MOWAC staff to roll out implementation. We intend to achieve this by strengthening the capacity of the Research Statistics and Information Management (RSIM) Directorate of MOWAC.
? Harmonize existing capacity building materials and tools for gender mainstreaming.
? Facilitate the enactment of the Affirmative Action Act (AAA)
? Accelerate the development of both the National Gender Policy and the Child Protection Policy.
• CONCLUSION
In conclusion, Mr. Chairman, Distinguished Audience;
Our modest but remarkable achievements for the period under review are attributed to the enhanced collaboration and partnership with our stakeholders and Development Partners. We therefore wish to acknowledge the numerous financial and technical assistances received from the Government of Ghana, our stakeholders including MDAs, MMDAs, Civil Society Organizations; international bodies such as the United Nations System, ECOWAS, African Development Bank, African Union, International Organization for Migration (IOM), International IDEA, Embassy of the Kingdom of Netherlands (EKN), Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) and a host of Diplomatic Missions in the country.
We also appreciate the immense contribution and cooperation of the Media in our quest for gender equity, equality, women’s empowerment and children’s protection and rights.
Finally but not the least, let me use this opportunity to urge the general public to ensure peace and tranquility before, during and after the December elections. Women and children bear the brunt in conflict situations so let us do all we can to ensure violent free elections.
THANK YOU!!!!